top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllen J. Venezio

A Royal Christmas

Merry Christmas to all of you out there in trumpet land! Christmas is indeed a time to praise God for His many blessings, including the birth of his only Son, our Lord Jesus Christ.


On this day, though, I need to give thanks to someone else. However, please allow me to digress before doing so. Many of you know that in July of 2019, I suffered an embouchure injury that left me unable to play the trumpet. After a few weeks of "freaking out", I discovered that I was dealing with "Overuse Syndrome" (it's real ... look it up!). I was grateful that it was that and not much worse!


With Overuse Syndrome, your embouchure becomes unable to sustain itself because the muscles on the corners are not able to seal. Articulation becomes nearly impossible and you find yourself "chewing" the notes, not to mention the fatigue that sets in after only minutes behind the horn.


I had to practically start over ... but, I stuck to a regimen of regular practice beginning with quarter notes and long tones. Over a few months, I was able to come back strong and with a much greater appreciation for the trumpet and what I am capable of doing with it!


Getting back to my thank you, during this period, I could not get any of my equipment to work for me. In the end, the only trumpet that worked was a 1962 King Super-20 Symphony SilverSonic Dual Bore Harry James model trumpet that my brother loaned me. I was playing lead trumpet parts again in no time with this horn! Some days, I sounded even better than I did before my injury!


Since September, I've been playing this trumpet as my main lead horn and I've been lighting it up! I had no idea how I was going to be able to afford to purchase it from my brother but I also knew that I could not afford for him to sell it!


My last Christmas gift from him was a plastic crown. I love getting toys for Christmas, but this was beyond me. He told me he couldn't wrap my real gift because I already had it. I didn't understand and he told me he was gifting me the King trumpet I love so much! Words escaped me and they still are.


My brother is a very generous man. He has always helped me and supported me. In fact, the very first 5 Foot High Trumpet Guy website and photos back in 2010 were done with his help. I owe so much of my success to what he has helped me accomplish.


I am very lucky to have an amazing family. Thanks brother ... I hope you know how much I appreciate this amazing gift and all you have done to help me further my trumpet career.


To you all, I hope you had a very Merry Christmas and that you all use your trumpet gifts to help as many people as you can. We are lucky to have been bestowed with God's blessings to share music with the world. I know this Christmas, and everyday, I thank God for that.


Keep blowin' baby!


Allen




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page